Skip to content

Thinking Outside the Box

03/11/2011

Good news, everyone! I’m done with my art school apps!

The other day I was looking through some old photos– partially because the word “recent” is extremely vague when it comes to deciding what art pieces you’re allowed to put in your application portfolio. Turns out “recent” may also mean “nothing you did in college, asshole” which is fine because I was AWFUL at documenting my art projects in college.

Case in point: Assignment 3 for… this must have been Intro to 3D art. I really liked making this project, and I think it looks super cool. It’s just a shame that I don’t think my conceptual understanding of it was very strong, so therefore my explanation of it during classes left the TA somewhat unimpressed.  I ultimately got an A in that class, so it hardly matters.

I don’t have any other pictures of this project except for these two itty bitty low quality, badly lit combo pics. Ugh. What was I thinking?

It was really cool too. There were real plants that I collected around campus. The box/mountain/whatever is water bottles and papier mache. The animals are a mish-mash of things I bought at the campus thrift store and bits of stuff we had lying around. Sadly, it got a lukewarm reception when I presented it. It was all “Huh. So what’s the fancy schmancy artsy fartsy concept behind this?” and I was all “FUCK YOU IT LOOKS AWESOME” (Obviously I didn’t say that out loud).

I think it lived under the stairs for a while before I threw it out because 1. where the hell does one keep something like this? and 2. it was molting dead plant bits all over the place.

Godspeed, Assignment 3. You were sent before your time into this breathing world

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

