Skip to content

I was but the learner

05/23/2010

Ok here we go. It should be noted that I’ve been nearly kicked out of several museums in my day for standing too close to the paintings of these artists and several others. I love looking at brush work. I always get in trouble for my face almost touching the paintings.

Click on the labels to see the original paintings. Sadly several of them had to be cropped for my purposes because all I didn’t have access to canvases in the proper dimensions.

Also click around the archives that I’m linking to and check out some truly amazing work by the masters.

Still Life with Pomegranate and Pears

(If you ever get a chance to see Cezanne’s stuff in person, do it. His brushwork gets me hot and bothered. It is said that he took 15 minutes between each stroke so that everything related to everything else.)

After Paul Cezanne

Eastern Point, Prout’s Neck

After Winslow Homer

The Long Leg

After Edward Hopper

The Oise on the Outskirts of Pontoise

(One of my first ever oils. What’s really cool about the Impressionists is that they did multiple scenes of the same location, so on the link below if you search “Pointoise” you get a bunch of paintings and get a really good sense of the town.)

After Camille Pissarro

The Daughters of Edward Darley Boit

(Ugh sorry for the photo quality, lords and ladies. I have issues with my Pissarro above, so I take much comfort in seeing some improvement from that to this, which was one of the later ones I did with this course. Please please please check out Sargent. He is amazing.)

After John Singer Sargent

Woman Holding a Balance

(This one’s a glaze painting, meaning it’s first painted in dark brown and white tones, and then gone over again with translucent color. Vermeer is truly amazing at what he does with light. I’d like to also mention that every time anybody referred to Thomas Kinkade as the “painter of light” I was overcome with the urge to make something bleed.)

After Johannes Vermeer

Haha I can’t find an image my crap Renoir anywhere. I must have been too embarrassed to even document it. Suffice to say I wasn’t very good with portraits in general, and grasping Renoir’s subtleties in particular,  and made the French lady in the painting look Asian.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cindy Oppenheim permalink
    05/27/2010 7:31 pm

    Sharon!

    You are amazing! I especially love Woman Holding a Balance and yours is pretty fantastic in my opinion. Also, HATE Thomas Kinkade.

Leave a Reply

