Skip to content

Monsterbeast

09/20/2010

I’m not sure if this counts even remotely as “art,” but what the hell, I made something new.

About 2 weeks ago, we got a new cat. While perusing the internet for cat-related things, I came across this page on traditional woven cat beds. I love me a craft project, and so set about making my own.

For mine, I used cotton rope, strips of blue fake fur, and rudimentary basket weaving skills I had learned in 3rd grade (I will have you know that the yarn basket I made then totally got put on display in the library. Huzzah).  You can see Kitty in the background, generally not giving a fuck about all the effort I was expending for his benefit.

In fact, he made his opinion of my project quite apparent when I tried to show it to him. Everyone’s a critic.

Here’s the finished product. Of course it couldn’t be a normal basket. It is me, afterall.

The face was made with felt sewn on afterward. I left the top open because Kitty doesn’t seem to like closed-in spaces. Not like it mattered, really. Kitty wasn’t that interested in it since he can sleep anywhere he damn well likes. I think he hurt the basket’s feelings.  OH GOD LOOK OUT KITTY IT’S COMING FOR YOU!

Alas.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. charityslamb permalink
    09/20/2010 10:15 pm

    Haha! Love it! That is an adorable project. And the cat is pretty cute too. :)

  2. Zoe permalink
    09/21/2010 10:38 am

    That is the most amazing cat bed I’ve ever seen. Ungrateful animal!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

